barely
updated.
there's
more
to
life
than
this.



Other diaries:

6*4*01

Grandpa: Part Two

After I returned to Camp Savage in Minnesota, I was again assigned to go overseas. This time it was Brisbane, Australia, via San Fransisco. This was a month long trip aboard a troop ship in a huge convoy.

While stationed in Australia my father died in Topaz, Utah (one of the internment camps with barbed wire, under U.S. Army supervision). I requested for a gurlough to the States so I could attend my father's funeral service. Once again, the familiar words of denial fell upon me. Thus I was quite dejected and again became rebellioius.

After a couple weeks had gone by, I asked for a frontline duty to keep me busy. I was transferred to "I Corp", which was getting ready for the invasion of New Guinea. I made the first landing in Hollandia, New Guinea, but I was soon struck down with jungle fever. I was laid up for approximately 10 days. After getting over the sickness I was busy translating captured documents and interrogating Japanese prisoners that were captured from near the frontline for valuable information. The invasion lasted for six months.

In december of 1944, I was ordered to report to the beach for the invasion of the Philippine Islands. I remember spending my Christmas Eve and and Day on the beach. From the shore, I could hear the Navy personnels aboard their ship singing Christmas carols and probably have a nice hot meal. I sat on shore alone, eating cold rations. It sure made a man feel lonely and sad.

After a few weeks on the ship, I made my landing on Lingayan Bay, on the island of Luzon. We fought inland to clear out the enemy from the immediate area. This was done so that Gen. MacArthur could make what would be his historical landing. His famous remark of "I have returned" was made on this beach. During this period, I was assigned to the prisoner's stockade for iterrogation purpose, and I made the occasional trip to the frontline for on-the-spot interrogation.

Sometime in June or July of 1945 I started to hear rumors that we were getting ready for the invasion of Japan. By this time, President Roosevelt had died and the war in Europe was over. I had my doubts as to how I would react towards Japanese civilians, women and children, in case they would not surrender. I questioned whether I would be able to shoot them if I needed to. I could shoot a soldier, but women and children put second thoughts in my head. To this day, I'm grateful that these incidents never took place for me.

The atom bomb was dropped in Hiroshima and Nagasaki in August of 1945. Japan surrendered, and our unit was sent to Japan. Since I was the only one available that could speak Japanese, I was elected to lead the convoy. We landed at Wakayama, and I led the convoy to Osaka where we set up our headquarters. It kept us busy, since we had to act as interpreters at various meetings.

In November of 1945 I asked for my discharge to return to the States. I had been overseas for a total of 30 months. The unit asked me to stay for another 6 months, with a promotion of rank or as a civilian employee (civil service), but I declined because I wanted to be home for Christmas. I left Nagoya and was discharged on November 27, 1945 at Camp Beale near Sacramento, CA. Arriving at the bus station in Sacramento, I realized that I had no parents or home to go to. What was I to do?

I finally decided to walk to the Buddhist temple, figuring I might find shelter there. I did, and while I was there my brother had come in from Oakland, CA looking for me. His wife's parents had moved back to Oakland and asked me to stay with them. They encouraged me to attend school while I stayed with them. I felt it to be too much of am imposition and left for Cleveland to attend school there. During that time I met my wife and eventually we married in November of 1946. My journey of the war ended in Chicago, where I have resided ever since.

This is for Grandpa, although he will never read it on here. He is a hero, a legend. I love you.



regress /progress



Site Meter.